Tips from my 92 year old Dad


Thank you for your patience as I took care of my 92 year old dad who recently had surgery and is doing quite well.  I have learned so much taking care of him !  For those of you who have older parents, friends or relatives, these tips may be helpful:

  1. One major goal of my Dad is to be independent.  I have learned to enable not disable him by assisting rather than doing the task for him.  I have tried to understand why he gets upset when he can’t do something or I won’t let him do something for safety sake.  Independence is so important to him!
  2. Sit down and listen to him.  He may repeat stories but they are my heritage and his eyes light up when he shares them!  We have video taped Dad telling his stories so that we can pass them onto his great grandchildren.
  3. Food brings my Dad joy!  I have learned that 92 year old teeth need softer foods to chew and much more flavor!  Rather than criticizing his love of anything sweet, I have tried to decrease the amount of sugar in a recipe and make sure he has plenty of nutritious food.
  4. Pick my battles!  Some things don’t matter in the big picture!

I would love to hear tips from you who are walking in my shoes at this point!  Then we will return to our discussions about kids!

0 Responses to “Tips from my 92 year old Dad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Handwriting Questions

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 54 other followers

ALPHABET PLAYING CARD DECKS

Alphabet Soup: Fun Activities to Stir Your Child's Interest in Letters by Lyn Armstrong O.T.R


